Unboxing Stitch Simple

April 28, 2009 at 3:56 am 2 comments

I have been intrigued by the concept of Stitch Simple since I first heard about it a couple of months ago. It seems like such a stroke of brilliance to offer pre-washed, pressed, and cut fabric for quilting. Personally, the washing and pressing parts of fabric prep are my least favorite part of the quilting process so this shop seems like the perfect solution. Stitch Simple offers a variety of sizes of prepared squares and rectangles as well as fat quarters and fabric by the inch. Stitch Simple’s owner, Jen, also has two convenient customizable kits you can choose from. I chose to get the 40×50 CYO (Choose Your Own) kit.

To order your kit you use this clever little tool that allows you to preview what your quilt will look like with your selected fabrics. You select from Stitch Simple’s fabric swatches (see more about this below) and the quilt preview to the right shows you exactly what you’re going to end up with. I loved how easy it was to use and how it took the guess work out of the selection. I have to admit, I went through dozens of variations of the kit until I finally locked down my choice.

I ordered my kit on Thursday and it arrived the following Monday. I have to say I was surprised (pleasantly, of course) at how quickly it came! I had fun opening my package and thought I’d share the experience with you.

Opening the box you see your invoice, a note about the fabric, and detailed info about fabric care.
none

Dig down a layer (which are all neatly separated by cardboard) and you find your backing fabric. Yes, the kit includes backing!!! And really, there’s enough fabric to make the binding too.
none

The next layer contains the heart of the matter…the instructions and the precuts. You also receive a cute cardboard ruler. The instructions include the info you need if you want to use the pattern again with your own fabric or more precuts. And yes, Stitch Simple sells refills for the kits.
none

I was pleasantly surprised at how detailed the instructions are. The guide is in full color and basically take you step-by-step through the assembly. This kit would be great for a first time quilter. As a neat little bonus. Stitch Simple provides a color print out of your quilt preview too!
none

But c’mon, let’s get to the good stuff! Nestled in the recycled paper packing material are your neatly wrapped bundles of precuts. Somehow it feels like candy to me! Each fabric is sandwiched in cardboard, wrapped in plastic, and is clearly labeled.
none

Another bonus of the kit are the two “extras” you get: Practice pieces and an “emergency kit” for repairs in the future. Both inclusions are incredibly thoughtful and shows that Stitch Simple knows crafters and is all about sending you a package that will create an heirloom.
none

I chose the David Walker Robot line of fabric for my kit. I love the bright colors and cute motifs. And look at how perfectly those rectangles are cut!
none

For some reason, the profile of a stack of fabric is always more appealing to me than a head on shot. See?
none

So there you go. The Stitch Simple CYO Quilt Kit unboxed. I hope you enjoyed going through it with me. I can’t wait to start piecing this together.
none

Stitch Simple is a young company that has a bright future. There are definitely areas that they can grow in – especially around fabric selections. I can only imagine the challenge of managing an inventory of fabric that you’re washing, pressing, AND cutting. But for now the fabric selection is a little sparse. Thankfully, Jen has a good eye and although small, there is a nice selection (big enough that I had a tough choice to make between some Amy Butler and the David Walker) of high quality prints. And I hope in the future Jen will offer additional patterns/kits beyond the two she currently sells.

For the order-by-piece precuts, Stitch Simple also offers some suggestions on how you can piece them together for a variety of blocks. I can see how I would order loose pieces or another kit in the future. I think the kit would make an especially nice gift for a new quilter (or an old one for that matter.) The price, considering the labor of fabric prep, the quality of the fabric and cutting, and all the extras is, in my opinion, more than fair. And if you sign up for the mailing list, Stitch Simple offers occasional coupons too. Finally, after interacting via email with Jen a bit, I can tell you that the customer service is top notch. And after my rants on fabric cutting you know I’m serious about my customer service.

If you’ve never heard of Stitch Simple, I hope I’ve introduced you to a new shop. If you’ve heard of it and wondered what it’s all about, I hope my unboxing helped you learn more. I, for one, can’t wait until I get my sewing machine fixed so that I can start quilting!

(And for the record…I wasn’t given a freebie, paid, or in any way compensated for this post.)

Entry filed under: Commentary, Crafty, Sewing. Tags: .

A Fabric Shopper’s Code of Conduct So tempted…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caroline  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    What a fantastic idea! how great is this service? Looking forward to the finished results.

    Caroline x

    Reply
  • 2. Jackie  |  April 28, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Omigawsh! I love it. Genius. I’m going to have to check this place out…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


