Munki-ing Around

May 4, 2009 at 8:40 pm 15 comments

After my post about finding Heather Ross fabric…I slipped into an ugly downward spiral of obsession. I realized there are so many gorgeous Ross prints that I didn’t have in my collection yet! I had to have them. I HAD to HAVE them. (I know I’m coming off as super materialistic – pun intended – but I pinky swear that I’m not THAT bad. This is my big vice. This and dark chocolate.) So after two days of Googling and emotionally justifying the cost, here’s what I have:
none

Yup…a whole STACK of Munki Munki pajamas. All beautiful Heather Ross prints that aren’t made anymore. Now, if you look at this and think, “what the heck is she going to do with all of those PJs?” then you aren’t thinking like a sewist. If you know the Munki Munki line, then you know the PJs were often sold for upwards of $80 retail. And if you know me, you’ll know there’s no way in H-E-double-hockey-sticks that I would pay that price. But thanks to Google and some digging around time, I found all of this stuff on sale for well below retail. It’s funny how value is so subjective. The pajama sellers just think this is older stuff that hasn’t sold and isn’t being printed anymore…so clear it out. I’m thinking these are hard-to-find prints of out-of-print fabric from a fabulous designer that are valuable. Go figure.

These lovelies are going to be sliced and diced into lovely pieces for patchwork. If you can’t see the prints I got: Bicycles, Brides, Gnomes, Vans, Shoes, Ice Cream Truck, Coffee, Martians, Sushi, and Yoga. Isn’t it neat how you can see how this early work of hers influenced some her of later stuff.
none

There’s a mix of PJ shirts, nighties, and the best finds…tops and bottoms (the Ice Cream Truck and VW Buses – SO cute.) I shopped around and bought the largest size of whatever PJ was available. And I only purchased the cotton poplin although I was sorely tempted by all the fun flannel that I found. I’m happy with how large each piece is and I figure I have a nice amount of yardage here. These are going to be so fun to play with!

Here are my faves (cuz you can’t have enough Munki love pictures.) Have you seen these before? They’re just the cutest things ever. I love love love the ice cream truck print…it’s so cheerful and fun and completely captures the essence of the ice cream truck excitement.
none

And because I know I’ll get asked…this is a combination of shopping ebay, Amazon, and Only Pajamas. Repro Depot also has some straight yardage left of Munki Munki prints. The “poolside” print may have to find its way into my collection…

I’m mulling over an all Heather Ross quilt top (from the PJs and the other fabrics in my stash. ) But the prints are so different thematically that I’m not sure how that would really work. So I’ll probably just work in pieces into projects here and there. Whatever I end up doing with them, I know these will add whimsy and delight to the project.

Now if my Far Far Away pre-order would just arrive.

Entry filed under: Sewing, Stash.

Fore! What’s wrong with this picture?

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  May 4, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    You. Are. My. Hero.
    Wow.

    Reply
  • 2. Ashley  |  May 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    So funny – I did the exact same thing a couple weeks ago! I have a very similar stack of PJs just waiting to be cut to pieces! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Belinda  |  May 5, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Mmmm…I looked up those jammies too and was amazed at the good value!. Living in Australia I wasn’t sure tho if they would post here and the shipping costs etc… Maybe I should think again..do love the yoga fabric!!

    Reply
  • 4. peacockchic  |  May 5, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    oh man you got my juices flowing too!! I had to click on every link. Then I remembered I have far too much fabric to store as it is. but I am definitely going to partake in the new line when it is available. I have a new Great-Niece to sew for :O)

    Reply
  • 5. Lizzy  |  May 6, 2009 at 2:09 am

    she really is a great designer. Even though she won’t be releasing any new lines for a while, I’m glad her fabric still exists!

    Reply
  • 6. belle_and_rose  |  May 6, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    thanks for the reply on flickr, and the link to your lovely blog!
    i had no idea they were PJ’s! i honestly think they are too cute to be worn indoors, and at night. why hide it when you can flaunt it?
    =D
    hope your order of far far away arrives soon!

    Reply
  • 7. Kate  |  May 10, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Nice finds – I totally understand the obsession!

    Reply
  • 8. Kristen  |  May 24, 2009 at 3:32 am

    If you have any scraps left over from these and you want to trade, please please let me know!! Let me know if there is anything in particular you are looking for.

    Reply
  • 9. Kay Snyder  |  May 27, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I am in awe…must got to ebay…

    Reply
  • 10. Amber  |  May 29, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Oh my goodness – I am in the same boat – obsessing over Heather’s prints. That wedding one just kills me! off to place my order at Amazon!

    Reply
  • 11. amy (sew~amy)  |  June 17, 2009 at 1:49 am

    I have been looking for the camping vans , and can’t find them. I love Heather Ross fabric.

    Reply
  • 12. Dorte  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    Lucky, Lucky you! I have been spending four hours online now…. looking for the red martians…. and what am I doing? Ending up buying the PJ with dogs. Simply because I can’t help it….

    Should you want to trade a bit of the martians, please let me know! And enjoy your fabulous collection.

    Reply
    • 13. Kathleen  |  September 16, 2009 at 2:15 am

      Someone needs to set up an exclusive munki munki pj swap. If Dorte is still looking for some martians, I have some that I’d be willing to swap. I’ve got martians, bicycles and farmers market right now, with some ice cream trucks on the way!

      Reply
  • 14. Jenna  |  May 9, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Hi! I am desperately looking for the martians ( fabric not real ones) my little girl loves martians and I am trying so hard to find some to make something for her before she gets too big! Let me know if anyone has ideas!! Thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 15. iv  |  August 30, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Such a nice collection!! Glad you could put your hands on all those beautiful prints!
    I would love to buy some too, but just don’t want to pay that price – wish she would release these prints again since she won’t be coming out with new ones for a while..obviously the demand is high for these prints…well we can always hope for that who knows, if we wish for it strong enough it might come true..:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


