RSS Feed Aggregator – Recs?

June 5, 2009 at 12:14 am 11 comments

Does anyone out there have a recommendation for an RSS aggregator?

I’ve used Bloglines for years…but I’m fed up with it. It’s difficult to remove old feeds and to move feeds around between categories. And about once a week, my feeds go crazy and show 200 new posts per site. So it looks like I have thousands of unread posts.
none

And worst of all (at least to me) is that I’ve emailed the company 3 times over the past 6 months with the issue and haven’t gotten any response at all. Poor tool performance + poor customer service = goodbye Bloglines.

So I’m on the market for a new online tool. I started playing with Google Reader but I am not overly fond of having to stay logged into my email to have the feeds going too.

What do you all use to keep up on blogs and RSS feed items? Any tool that you just love?

Entry filed under: General Geekery, Rant.

We have winners! Orange you glad I made coasters?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jaybird  |  June 5, 2009 at 12:32 am

    Google reader… the login part may seem annoying but i love how Google reader works.. you can edit easy… move things around… and it rarely messes up…

    Reply
  • 2. Me? A Mom?  |  June 5, 2009 at 12:58 am

    Another vote for google reader. Their “next” function is awesome. So is the subscribe button you can put on your toolbar. Very smart.

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  June 5, 2009 at 4:26 am

    I switched to google reader over a year ago. No regrets.

    Reply
  • 4. Stephanie  |  June 5, 2009 at 5:44 am

    Another vote for google reader. I also use my.yahoo for a home page type thing with some rss feeds on there that are my favorites along with news sources.

    Reply
  • 5. embee  |  June 5, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Sage is an add-in for Firefox. I love it!!

    Reply
  • 6. Tina  |  June 5, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    My votes for Google Reader too. I used Bloglines and was completely fed up too. I’ve had no problems with GR at all.

    Reply
  • 7. Dewdrop  |  June 5, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    I use Google Reader as well and absolutely recommend it. I never have any problems with it and it is so easy to use.

    Reply
  • 8. jen  |  June 5, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    I was using bloglines but last week it deleted ALL of my subscriptions. I had a ton of them too…possibly a blessing in disguise that they are now gone! I emailed them as well and have heard nothing back as well.

    I switched to google reader but only because it was so obvious to me and I wasn’t in the mood to look around for anything else. I do prefer it to bloglines though. I’m interested to see what other readers people use.

    Reply
    • 9. candiedfabrics  |  June 6, 2009 at 11:49 pm

      Google reader! and the switchover from bloglines is simple!

      Reply
  • 10. susan  |  June 10, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    If you’re using IE8, there’s a Feeds tab under Favorites. To me, the major downside is that it doesn’t seem to sync between machines (I think you’d have to use the import/export function or manually add the feed on all machines that you read blogs on). You also have to mouse over the feed to see the number of unread items, which is a bit of an extra step. But it’s convenient, built-in, and their categories work quite well, I think.

    Reply
  • 11. Ulrike  |  November 17, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I know I am late, but in case you haven’t decided yet, I am using FeedDemon and so far do not regret it 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives